Frampton will be ordered to fight Rigondeaux if he defeats Quigg and takes WBA title

If Carl Frampton defeats Scott Quigg on February 27th he will have to face Cuban sensation Guillermo Rigondeaux before July or vacate the WBA World title.

The WBA’s title policy is beyond confusing and has lead to ridicule of late, none more so than when they made the two-time Olympic champion Rigondeaux ‘champion in recess’ due to his inactivity.

The governing body then upgraded Quigg from ‘regular’ champion to ‘super’ champion technically making Frampton versus Quigg in Manchester a unification fight.

This was a second upgrade for Quigg who was bumped up from ‘interim’ champ to ‘regular’ champ after his draw with Yoandris Salinas in October 2013.

However, if ‘The Jackal’ wants to keep the belt – should he emerge victorious on the eagerly-anticipated February 27th clash – he will have to fight ‘Rigo’ next.

WBA Championship Committee Chairman, Gilberto Jesus Mendoza Jr. told Boxing Scene that

“Rigondeaux shall come out of recess and face the winner of the February 27tg unification bout between WBA champion Scott Quigg and IBF champion Carl Frampton. The winner of said bout, or Quigg is the fight is ruled a draw, must fight Rigondeaux on or before July 27, 2016.”

Frampton has always questioned the Matchroom fighter’s World title credentials and stressed that he would have to beat Rigondeaux to claim he is in the best in the 122lbs division and has himself expressed a desire to fight the Cuban.

The Belfast star, however is mandated to defend his IBF title against Shingo Wake of Japan and an IBF defence may be his next clash.

Depending on how things play out on February 27th, Frampton may even elect to fight Wake early May and try and push a ‘Rigo’ bout back to later in the Summer – and maybe even fulfill his dream of fighting at Windsor Park.

irishboxing

Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years