Frampton: Cazares failed to beat the count because he shipped a heavy shot

HUGO Cazares failed to rise to his feet before ten during the second of his World title eliminator with Carl Frampton because he took a ‘big shot to the head’ and not because he didn’t understand the count, insists ‘The Jackal’.

Cazares told the press post fight that he was fine to fight on despite being dropped by a sumptuous left hook and was adamant he planned to rise from the canvas, but misinterpreted the referee’s count.

Shane McGuigan revealed he told a different tale in the dressing rooms immediately after the clash, indeed the two weight world champ told UTV he was hit so hard is body and brain were on different wavelengths.

And Frampton agreed with the Mexican’s first summation.

“It was a normal count and I know he doesn’t speak English but he has been around the game long enough to be able to count to ten in English,” the new WBC No1 contender said.

“He was confused and did not know what was happening. That happens when you take a big shot to the head. It was early in the round so I would had plenty of time to finish the job if he had got back up.”

irishboxing

Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years